Sunday, July 6, 2014

2014 Pickleball Canada National Open Championship July 4 - 6, 2014

2014 Pickleball Canada National Open Championship:

The 3rd Pickleball Canada National Open Championship was held at the Abbotsford Recreation Centre in Abbotsford, B.C. on July 4 - 6, 2014. About 200 participants came from as far as Ontario, Florida and Alaska to compete in the largest pickleball tournament in Canada!

There were 20 events including Men’s, Women’s and Mixed Doubles 55+, 60+, 65+, 70+, Open and Under 55, Open Singles, doubles and mixed doubles. As a Sanctioned Tournament, PCO members are eligible to receive Tier 1 Tournament Points.

Pickleball Canada has some Board members in attendance: Shirley Shepherd, Ed Burke and Merrie Lee. PCO Area Ambassadors from B.C. participated: Mike Shepherd (Abbotsford), Mike Carter (Osoyoos), Roberta Meakin (Penticton), Tim Mah (Kamloops), Jim Saunders (Kelowna), John Savoy (Nanaimo), Carol Haworth (Chilliwack), Gord Griffin (Chilliwack), Denis Zhekhovskiy (Vancouver), Peter Darvill (Ladner/Richmond), Karen Renfrew (Sunshine Coast), Linda Brown (Salmon Arm).

Among the competitors were the top 5.0 players in the world from Canada and the USA: Jennifer Lucore, Billy and Darcie Jacobsen, Chris Miller, Christine Barksdale, Wesley Gabrielsen, Steve Wong, Luba Zhekhovskaya, Denis Zhekhovskiy, Theresa Orcutt, Cherilyn Drake, Scott Lennan, Glenn Griffin, Maurice Parobec, Dave Touchet, Andrew Mckimmon and Che Cui.

Pickleball Canada would like to thank all the tournament sponsors: Tourism Abbotsford, Pro-Lite Sports, Onix Sports, Pickleball Depot, Pickleball International, Courtside Sports, IGA, Kintec, North Bellingham Golf Course, Murray GM Abbotsford, Great Clips and Ocean Park Pizza.

At the Opening Ceremony, City of Abbotsford Recreation Coordinator Ryan Coreau and Deputy Mayor of City of Abbotsford Les Barkman welcomed the participants and sang Canada and the USA National anthems. Shirley Shepherd, President of Pickleball Canada welcomed everyone and thanked the City of Abbotsford, Jenny Thornton, Ryan Coreau, Alanna Carmichael and Kim Griffith for hosting this National event.

A big thank you go to all the referees and volunteers: Ed Burke, Carol Haworth, Gord Griffin, Ken Witt, Judy Newman, Peter Darvill, Brian Parkes, Danny Garinger, Allan and Julie Turner, Gerry Logan, Janet Hutchinson, Anne and Ralph Laury, Henrietta Waters, Gail Dorst... Many thanks to Abbotsford Recreation Centre for providng delicious lunch, snacks and beverages. Thank you for your support, hard work, dedication and efforts for making the 2014 Pickleball Canada National Open Championship a great success!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.